orgami's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the short life of Nine


I WAS watching the orange cat
crawl and hide in the culvert
the Beer store parking lot lights
the dark pines that grew along
the street
THe busy old by-pass full of
swift vehicles

The cat was crossing the road
and the car didnt slow
the sickening thumping as the
cat was slung up by the wheel
around the back of the inside
fender and it shot out by
momentum of the impact
and ran around and around on
its side in a tight circle
until finally it stopped
like a dull penny that circles
and settles on old wooden floors

The cats eyes were open and glowed
at me down from where I was standing
I was waiting for it to get up
or to keep going around and around
waiting for it to run back into
the culvert and stare with its
fiery eyes

five cars went by in the next hour
and three missed the corpse

the next morning on my way to pick
beer cans for coffee and Mama Michelenes
microwave dinners there was only
a dark stain

I can still see those eyes glowing
in the distance

9:56 p.m. - 2010-07-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Moodswing
Floorplan