orgami's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

riverbed


electrical simmer of neon
soft throating hoots of pigeons
and the damp smell of city
plaugue of noise
burlap wrap slopping on the
steps

water dreams
just a tease of a paddle flash
she is there before me
laughing at some country joke
surrounded by lush deep forest
green come drink the water
to their thirsty trunk
her shoulder strap on her top
slips down on her left arm
she puts her paddle on her knee
and adjusts the strap
"looks like you're burnin'"
i drawl at her
her ball cap protects her face
covers those deep green eyes
even out here she wears mascara
and she flips her head about
for just a second to tilt her
head back and smile

"and you are the man of fire"
our shared joke after my sleeve
caught fire making coffee
one sunset
before the rains
its not too badly infected
although we have about twelve
portages to do and another three
days to go
I am sweating profusely which is
unusual and my eyes blur behind
my sunglasses stinging my eyes
with sunblock

for the last few bends in the river
i have felt the hairs on the back
of my head start to crawl in their
primordial dance
I listen for her voice to detect if
she too senses this but nothing
so far denotes her attention wavering
from each turn of this clear river
I am thinking we are being followed
but each time i quickly spin my body
around on my seat for a look there is
nothing
almost

there was that one time when the space
just at the rivers edge where it twisted
out of visual reach darkened and hovered
like a burned photograph but it righted
itself I just put it off as sunlight
reflecting on my retina or my fever
and my burn

and my love was happy as a dove
sitting point in the canoe
three days to go
i was starting to get panicky
forgetting to mark down our progress
in pencil in our journal

...........

Umm Orgami? Yes O? is this a reality
thing or just some story you feel like
writing?? I guess just a story..
Uhh huh I see..Just wondering.....

12:30 p.m. - 2005-03-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

mordorr
taketaketake
wasgood
mental4you
chaosdaily
ursamajor