orgami's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My dad


my father worked on the railroad
for forty years He was forty years
older then I was
if any of you watched CBC television
growing up in Canada and maybe some
of the states there was a show on
called Mr Dressup with Casey and
Finnegan and a bunch of other childrens
characters well my dad looked just
like Mr Dressup and he was just about
as joly if not in fact ribald about
the way he conducted himself
He would yell heartily across the
street to one of his working fellows
in town and it would drive my mother
crazy She was a nurses assistant
and went to the parties the doctors
wives and nursing bosses would have
at their homes eventually she would
find a more defined man and would
travel and live well but at that
time it was my fathers good demeanour
and boisterous ways that got her
goat other times he was quiet as
a mouse but he had sharp wit about
him and would comment on people
and life he drove ford plain jane
sedans and worked hard
cut his grass fished and hunted
loved my mother and us kids

I loved him too

..O..

9:59 p.m. - 2006-12-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

mordorr
taketaketake
wasgood
mental4you
chaosdaily
ursamajor