orgami's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

just wondering


I was there
listening to the wind
pressing against the
loose window

I can tell you how the
maples smell come fall
and how that dampness
if you dont put up
a fire in the stove
can make you ache

I drove highway 101
handling the wheel through
the curves along the pine
flats the balsam hills

I leaned against a spruce
log bleached the colour
of a fresh seasons moon
listening to the breakers
rush down the beach from
right to left
watched the sun set on the
Pacific Ocean and slept
under the Sitkas

I was a young man once
sitting with the fancy of
my eye on a pick ups tailgate
watching the northern lights
and drinking coffee from a
thermos

Shovelled three and a half
feet of snow off rooftops for
mid seasons work at eleven
bucks a roof so quiet on
that lake even the moon coming
up sounded like a sigh

so wild against the hills
and across the frozen lake it
made my hair stand up Made
me want to cry for the rawness
it spoke to me


1:36 a.m. - 2010-07-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

mordorr
taketaketake
wasgood
mental4you
chaosdaily
ursamajor