orgami's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

stripping wax

a nice floor but twenty years of
wax...I have found a spatula a tool
on a walk with its pitted chrome
flexible steel..a black plastic handle

I start to work in the small kitchen
first on my hands and knees with whats
left of seven year old stripper that is
inert of harsh smell....one tile at a time
with a bucket of hot water and soap and
a cloth..then laying on the floor with an arm outstretched...raw Ammonia now..the stove fan on. A door window drawn up..Its
a restoration of faith...faith that I can do this..that I shall appreciate it
all when I get through sometime next
spring at this rate...It takes twenty seven minutes approximent to do it right
to then buff the roughness smooth with a
scratch pad..to mop up the old wax..My
mother use to do the floor of our house
by hand..it was a small kitchen..this is
twice the size of our house of youth..
this townhouse we rent shared with other
connected in angles for privacy and interest...When its done it is so rewarding for me...that I didnt just leave the floor forgotten and buried
like this under the dark grey wear..

I did the same with the bathroom floor
pushing off the paint overspray from the
rollers..carefully working the dots from
the chrome accents..polishing the tap sets... its peaceful like drawing..like filling in a sketch..it looks wonderful from what it was when I started.. helps with the depression big time this time of year...

so glad I found that tool
like it was meant to happen

9:21 a.m. - 2012-11-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Esker
Orderwine
Damiho
Moodswing
Stardumb
Floorplan