orgami's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

saturday heat wave

heat surrounds me like a thick blanket
and the haze makes the far hills of the
ridge mute and quietly invisible

in here at the library there is respite
soft blowing air conditioning from the
wall beside the round clock face
minute hand sweeping around
time is one thirty five p.m. Saturday
sometime in June

five people on computers here
there are ten so there is only
fifty per cent usage
I wonder where the others are
after all it is the weekend
Gone to the beach to bake on the sand
getting that rich and even tan
so envied by non tanners
I myself because of my Ojibway
heritage tan well and darkly
Lori with her Irish German roots
is pale and does not tan
she avoids the sun to keep her
pale skin pale

of course I must slip in here that
I am listening to Siouxsie Sioux
My Muzak of late for listening
pleasure while I type away
and think of witty and interesting
things

1:26 p.m. - 2005-06-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

mordorr
taketaketake
wasgood
mental4you
chaosdaily
ursamajor