orgami's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

crepuscle

cool overcast evening
some occasional rains
just enough to pool in
the potholes and dampen
the cement stairs out
back

quiet tonight
buses quit running an hour
ago Not much traffic and
all the trucks and cars of
the parking lot seem to be
staying put

air conditioner running
blowing out cool air
damp outside
the drone is white noise
to lull Lori to sleep by

I am awake and the cats are
playing
the television unwatched is
at my back in the corner
the stereo sits atop everything
with its red led light which
reminds me of HAL 9000 from that
book by Aurthur C.Clarke
2001

Hal is the soft spoken articulate
voice of the computer that overlooks
the space crafts journey towards
Jupiter Is that right
?? havent read the book in eons
I remember HAL though
he was pretty Crafty
especially to poor ol Frank Poole

anyway I can feel it
Yes I think I defintely feel it
Watching me back there with its
little red light
just watching us here
waiting to do what??
No its just a stereo system
But is it?????

Im not supposed to be on this
thing past seven thirty at night
because Lori sleeps behind me
and she is up every day at six
(we dont have to leave for work
until five to nine)

so she is back there in dreamland
I can sort of hear the telvision
over the drone of the air conditioner
and the smal humming fan in the ancient
computer towere here

just all this mechanical lullabyes that
we need here in this place
Its like Toronto with its hum of jet
airliners landing or taking off and circling round the city one right after
another all hours of the day

tommorow I go in and paint my fox at
least finish it I have finished the
horses for the sign Painted this
tan coloured horses with their harness
's on pretty cool painting
acrylic and finished the loon and
duck and bear and racoon last week
I get to sit and paint all day
mostly I get told what to paint which
I dont mind because its easier to
get a direction and then use pictures
for reference
but anyway I must go in because of
Camp across Lake Nippy on the south
shore took up two No three days of
my time at the shop painting
one complete day was had at home
with me sleeping the whole day
in bed an entire day
picture it and it was me
didnt get out of bed from dark till
dark was all paranoid about the
hydro bill with this electric air
conditioner running all the time
but it doesnt use that much
not as much as I thought anyway

am I making any sense
I feel like I am rambling on
at night I usually write some
kind of poems

word trinkets

wind ryhmes

a frayed edge of a mirror

a lash and a slip

a curve and a zip

see even I dont know what
all that means but I write it
its like painting at the shop
mostly I dont really know what
I am doing anymore but I do it
and it comes out looking not to
bad

for poems and words I have to
contribute a lot of it to Dr Suess
whom to me was the first white
rapper I read all his books when
we visited our Toronto cousins

Thing one and Thing two were my most
favourite and still are things to this
day cat in the hat was the mere
barker THEY did all the exertion in
the story

and a whole bunch of childhood stories
from the twenties thirties forties
and fifties in these books with cool
leatherlook covers with cool paintings
that dazzled creeped out and shocked me
it was like mind candy
where they went is a mystery to me
but they remains in fragments inside
me

twelve minutes after twelve
I am being way up past my bedtime
must go to sleep now
will write more banal and oddities
later
..O..

11:52 p.m. - 2006-06-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

mordorr
taketaketake
wasgood
mental4you
chaosdaily
ursamajor